Router Forums banner

The Perfect Router and Table?

4K views 20 replies 10 participants last post by  Mike 
#1 ·
I've been doing woodworking on and off for 20 years as a hobbyist, and my plain old 20 yr laminate surface table is warped and time for a upgrade. As I get older it sure seems like a lift would be nice perk for the table. And then I heard about the Triton that evidently you can raise and change bits above the table. Sounds good, does it work well? Are there other routers that you can work above the table and not buy a lift? The sad part is I still have the same Milwaukee ( 2 hp) that I bought 20 years ago and works great. And then there is the table and the fence to consider? Miter slots or not? T-Tracks? I've never had either? Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Tom

#2 ·
Hi Tom,
I have the Triton 2 1/4 in my table and it is a great machine. There are others, but I can't speak from experience on them. As for the miter slots or T-tracks, I do not have either on my table except for the T-track on the fence I made. I have not found an instance where I thought they would really be needed on my table even when making cope and stick. Some like 'em and some don't. I guess it really comes down to how many bells and whistles you want on your table.

#3 ·
Hay Tom, I have a Ridgid router it can be adjusted from above the table also. I have so far been satisfied with this router, but I am new and don't have anything to base it against. I know there are others that have the lift built in.

#4 ·
I Agree!

:yes4:Hello Tom, I agree with Jerry and George, Anytime that you put slot, and T'tracks, You have a great place to trap sawdust and shavings. Your always having to clean. A fence that clamps on and a 90 degree sled, with a clamp, is better, and more useful .
Thats My Opinion, And i usually fell that my opinion isn't bad. But remember, its the only one i have!:help::nono::no:

#5 ·