Router Forums banner

Router Table Search

3K views 12 replies 6 participants last post by  Bigfootjim 
#1 ·
Hello Fellow Router Enthusiasts,
I'm in the process of looking for a new router table to replace my old homebuilt one. I live in rural northern British Columbia (mile zero of the Alaska Highway) so my shopping choices are pretty much limited to internet searches. My use of routers is such that I own four of them but I'm not to the point that I always choose them as my first tool choice so I have more to learn but I don't need a professional type table yet. I've looked at most of the traditional ones like Rockler, Veritas, Bosch, Woodpecker, MCLS, etc. but in the process of learning what's out there I came across one called the RT-1000XL and I'm wondering if any of you could enlighten me on that one. The cabinet looks like a commonly used one but I have no knowledge of whether their table and accessories are reasonably good and whether they run a trustworthy operation. The company is called RT-1000 Woodworkings in Thorburn, Nova Scotia. Any advice you could provide me with would be most appreciated. Thank you.

Bigfootjim

#2 ·
#5 ·
Hello Jim, Welcome! Have you looked at the oak park? The table is a no frills table, and you can build the stand, and have a great table. It is what the Router Workshop has, and you will have a great system. Oak Park Enterprises Ltd. - Router Table, Router, Router Bits, Router Jigs, Router Accessories: Home

I will have to second this one. :) The OP table follows the K.I.S.S. rule. I've had mine for a good number of yrs now, works just it did from day one when I received it. Sometimes, simple is better. :)

#4 ·
Hi Jim, welcome to the forums.:)