Router Forums banner

Beginner needs help finding bits!

7K views 13 replies 10 participants last post by  Cherryville Chuck 
#1 ·
Hello everyone!

I have a few questions about finding an appropriate router tip to inlet barrels for custom muzzle loading rifles.
To start off I have almost no experience with the terminology of router tips and I do not want to buy a tip that cuts differently than I interpreted. I have some experience woodworking and plenty of experience with power tools so I am not a complete dope, haha!
So here's the problem I am facing.
I need to inlet an octagonal barrel. I am unable to find any (maybe you guys know where to find one?) octagonal cutting tips for a router so I need to improvise.
The total with of the barrel is 15/16 and each octagon flat is 3/8" wide, so I should be able to cut that with a (I THINK its called mortising) straight cut bit to the appropriate depth and then use a 45 degree angle bit at 3/8 to get the oblique (angled) octagons.
What is a a straight 45 degree bit called?
IF anyone has some other ideas please put them forth! I am always open to hear other's ideas and adapt.

Thanks guy!

See less See more
#2 ·
Welcome to the forum. The 45* bit is usually called a chamfer bit. It also comes in other angles. Most have a bearing on the tip but you want one without. You can remove them and grind off any projection. Try searching the major bit makers like Freud, Cmt, Whiteside, and Amana. They have the largest selections and all have online catalogs.

Whiteside will also custom make you a bit to your specs, for a price of course. One other option is to use a mouldings head on a table saw. Corob Cutter could grind you a set of cutters that would allow you to make the profile in one (the custom Whiteside bit would too). The problem with most stock chamfer router bits is that they will be too wide so look at the bit specs carefully.

#4 ·
First of all the angle is not 45deg. but more like 67.5 degrees if I am not mistaken.