Router Forums banner

Bits and simple fence for first project

2K views 12 replies 8 participants last post by  DaninVan 
#1 ·
As described in the thread "Newb, picked up a used router, what next?" in the General Routing forum (can't do links yet, but here's most of the link: routerforums.com/general-routing/139195-newb-picked-up-used-router-what-next.html ), I've picked up a used plunge router and table setup. I've never used a router before, and one of the first projects I'd like to undertake is this plyometric box build - again, don't have permission to post links yet, but if you search for "3-in-1 Plyometric Box jonathan zempel", it should be the first result. I don't have any bits yet, so this will be the start of getting some bits - if one of those $20-30 bit kits is sufficient for occasional DIY use, I can do that, or if those aren't even worth that much, I'm open to getting (semi-budget) bits as needed as I tackle different projects.

The box would be made of 3/4" plywood. The author uses the router to round over edges and to make a few dado cuts. The dado cuts are as pictured in the first pic below. The dados are 3/8" deep, 3/4" wide and 6" long. So I guess I need a 3/4" straight bit? Suggestions? Also, need a roundover bit.

He uses a jigsaw and circular saw to cut notches along the edges of several piece of plywood. I can't cut a straight line with a jigsaw to save my life, so I thought this might be easier with a router table. The last two pics below show the required notches - starting with a rectangular piece of 3/4" ply, he takes 3/4" off the edge to create the notches. Seems like a router could do that pretty easily. I guess the corners of the notches could be cleaned up with a jigsaw (or hammer and chisel). Is trying to cut these notches on a router easier than using a cheap Harbor Freight jigsaw? If so, what kind of bit would I need for that?