Router Forums banner

new kid in town

2K views 12 replies 9 participants last post by  Mike 
#1 ·
I am a General Surgeon by profession and have taken on the avocation of carpentry while building a house and attached garage in a remote location in Alaska.
I first assembled tools on site in a container. My crew of 2 and I lived out of a weatherport (tent) shelter for the first 2 building seasons during excavation, footer and foundation the first season and with the second season raising the walls and roof siding and roofing the project. At the end of season 2011 I stocked in 22000 lbs of sheetrock and did some rockwork on the wall behind the woodstove. Because we were having some issues with the windows I chose not to sheetrock last fall/winter . The window company stood by their product and have worked through the problems and having had the electricians plumbers and tinners through the place we have heat a hot shower and indoor plumbing connected to our septic system. I am about 70 percent complete on the sheetrock which is going well. Now it is time to start focusing on creating the casework, hang interior doors and finish flooring. Tape and texture work in there of course but logistics play a huge role in building in remote locations so thinking forward to have materials on hand when labor is there is key to effective time utilization.