Router Forums banner

Do you ever feel guilty about too good of a deal?

8K views 29 replies 24 participants last post by  kp91 
#1 ·
Today I went to an auction at what I can only describe as tool heaven. The estate of Mr. E. Miller was a woodworkers dream estate sale. Mr. Miller was a life-long bachelor, and a moderate horder. He was an engineer by trade, and kept an impeccable shop. He also had a bad habit of buying nice stuff and not using it. He had no heirs, so he donated his estate to a local historical society where he volunteered.

What led me to the auction was the advertisement of a NIB craftsman Compucarve. While I knew i wouldn't be coming home with it, I wanted to see how much that would go for, and I knew he probably had a few other goodies. Boy did he. When I got to the site, the first thing I observed was that the workshop was twice the size of his house, and packed to the gills with a lot of unused tools. The compucarve was at the door, along with a brand new worksharp 3000, both with a bunch of accessories. That got the drool flowing. When I poked around a bit, I found the Veritas sharpener as well, also unused. I prepared my mental list, and tried not to look too interested.

It was a long day, the first sale was @ 9:30 (to me for $2 for the original incra jig) and I was the last one to leave the site loading lumber in my truck at 7:30. I didn't do too bad, I only spent $120, but some of the highlights are in the pictures below.

Some of the great items:

Accuset 23 gage pinner (never used)
Veritas Sharpener (never used)
Gripper advanced system (NIB)
Microjig steel series splitters, thin kerf and regular kerf, never used
Milescraft Spirocrafter NIB
a bunch of Eagle America router bits, including a 7 piece carbide upcut spiral set and a handful of trimmers
2 bessey band clamps NIB
a delta 1" belt sander (I have wanted that for a long time)
original incra jig
incra measuring tool
Forrest WWII blade (used, but pretty nice looking)