Router Forums banner

where do i start?

3K views 10 replies 10 participants last post by  airbrusheffect 
#1 ·
Hi all.

complete newbie here when it comes to routers and most powertools in general.

basically im an airbrush artist.
you can look me up on facebook or instagram under Airbrush Effect if you would like to get an idea on what i do.

my new hairbrain idea is to create xmas display cutouts for people to buy that i then airbrush xmas related images on and hopefully sell a few. =D

ive spoken to a few people who have all sugested that my life would be made alot easier if i had a router?

so basically id need to cut into either MDF (custom wood) or for the outdoors person something durable like perspex.

i have no idea where to begin, whats available or even what prices id be looking at.

ideally a routher that i can connect to my macbook pro and send simple designs to, so it would cut out by itself would be amazing. but im sure that realistically id have to control the router myself and cut them.

like i said, im a total noob so any info is appreciated.

thanks in advance =D

See less See more
#3 ·
I agree with the title of your thread! If you intend to make commercial quantities of such items then as mentioned above a CNC router is the way to go however, if the items are much bigger than about 300mm then a large and EXPENSIVE machine would be required. There are two solutions as I see it, one sub-contract the work, there are firms all over the place that specialize in doing this kind of thing from a thumb drive. The other method is to rough cutout the figures on a band saw then, with one that has been carefully cut and sanded use it as a master template and attach it to several rough cut ones to be cleaned up on a router table.
If the latter method interests you then I would suggest that you spend some time looking at my series 1 to 5 of routing for beginners after which you should know sufficient to carry on with your projects.

Attachments

#5 ·