Router Forums banner

Straight bit vs. spiral bit

6K views 14 replies 8 participants last post by  neville9999 
#1 ·
I am just getting into using the router and using it more all the time. I do not own any spiral bits just some straight ones. What is the purpose of a spiral bit? Any advantages and/or disadvantages of the two?

Jim:nerd:

#2 ·
Spiral Bits

ADVANTAGES
• Very clean cut
• More cutter in wood means less vibration
• Better plunge-cutting
• Less wear and tear on router
• Direct chips up or down

DISADVANTAGES
• Limited lengths and diameters
• Can be somewhat risky to use Straight Bits

Straight Bits

ADVANTAGES
• Wide variety of lengths and diameters
•Guide bearings on tip or shank mean better template routing
•Less expensive
•Greater ability to resharpen

DISADVANTAGE
• Plunge-cutting requires more effort and skill -

http://www.routerforums.com/router-bits-types-usage/37335-upcut-vs-downcut-spiral.html
http://www.mlcswoodworking.com/shopsite_sc/store/html/smarthtml/graphics2/TM25spiral.pdf

#3 ·
Down cut spiral cut bits are great for laminates. Use a down cut and it will not chip out like a straight bit would.

Upcuts are great to remove material from the slot quickly so you can see what you are doing. Not as useful, but it can be for some.

#4 ·
Sprirals are the prima donnas of the router bit world - they give great performance but are expensive and temperamental. I love upcut spirals for plunging because they clear out the cut and leave a very clean finish. Down cuts leave a very clean edge. Compression spirals are great for through slots where clean edges are important. Unfortunately, they are pricey - solid carbide which also means they are brittle and easy to break. I broke one the other day when I pushed too hard on it. c'est la vie...

By the way, if a clean edge cut is super important, you can get shear bits that do about the same.

#7 ·