Router Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
okay I'm new to the router world, but like working with wood for over 40 years.
I was at lowes and they had a router and table for $35, and have wanted one for years, okay why not ! I've been looking at bit sets and think I'll go with mlcs, I don't have the time to work with wood to spend the big bucks for whiteside or cmt. but want good bits when the wife wants something made.
I have not bought the bits yet but it looks like from what I read, the problem with the table and a 1/4 inch router collet and the short shank of the 1/4 bits will leave me needing an extension, mlcs offers one one but it's for a 1/2 collet only.
does anyone know where or if a 1/4 inch to 1/4 inch extension is made.

$35 is only a
good deal if I can use it, I knew it would not be great, and will one day move up to better. I like working with red oak and don't want to mess up a piece of wood that cost more the the router and table HA !!!

I should have done this like everything else, yes that's right !! I didn't do my homework, but couldn't pass up what I thought was a deal !!??
I guess the best part of this is , when I have what I need, I'm thinking of all the stuff I can build, and the wife has started a list before me.

·
Registered
2,825 Posts
Hello Robert! First, The router table for 35.00 is what I call small work. I am not conifident that it is large enough to do larger pieces.I would not get the router extension untill You can put it all together. Depending on the router, You may not need it. If Your router is 1/2 in. collet. Do not take a chance on a 1/4 in. extension. The shaft could snap, and send the collet across the room. or worse, into a Loved one and do a great amount of damage. Move ahead with a great deal of thought. Remember, the router table becomes useless if You are not able to use it!

·
Registered
3,046 Posts
Robert,

Router and table for $35.00?