Router Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I found this area and I hope this would be the appropriate place to post this question. In my introduction I explained that I am new to this hobby and wanted to try my hand out routing. I had done this like 38 years ago. I also have recently completed a remodeling job on our house so I am not to new, but in project woodworking very new. I purchased a Dewalt 611 trim router that I heard does amazing things and since it was cheaper I wanted to see how I did with it before jumping full in. So I will be doing small project like box making for a trash can, TV stand, and maybe end tables. I will be working with 3/4" sanded board probably Birch from the large stores to start. Can someone advise to me in the radii I should use when dealing with 3/4" board size, and also I read in my research that I should not buy a 3/8" radius while using a 1/4" shank. Is this correct? Is there another hard rules when dealing with the smaller shank on my trim router? I am looking to get about 5 bits from a reputable company can anyone recommend a couple I should look into for the bits I get? I know Diablo in the saw blade area is very good are their router bits up to that level as well? Thanks for any input.

·
Registered
1,921 Posts
Small trim routers are very handy, I have four of them and often set them up differtly to do groove and tenon joins and that makes it fast as each one does a differnt job, so there is nothing wrong with having a trim rourter as a first step, they only use 1/4 shafted cutters so you can't use them for heavy cuts. That a real lesson, you can't uses a small router or a small cutter to do heavy cuts, for heavy cuts you need 1/2 shaftered cutters and a router with more horse power. N

·
Registered
1,892 Posts