Router Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm very new to woodworking. I'm also working with limited time and money.

My real goals in woodworking are to learn to make small items like picture frames, small boxes, and maybe a small end table. I really like mission style furniture. So, I've been drawn to learning how to make mortise and tenon joints.

I know I could buy a table saw and a tenoning jig or dado blade to make tenons, but since I have a router and really like working with the router, I thought I would buy a router table and do tenons on it.

I've looked around a lot on the web reading any recommendations, reviews, etc that I came across. I've narrowed my choices down to the Bench Dog ProTop Contractor, the Rockler Standard top (possibly building my own stand/cabinet), or the Rockler Bench Top router table. I was hoping you all could give me whatever personal opinions you have on these table options. Maybe you could even mention some good places to buy the Bench Dog if I get that one. I assume the Rockler ones are only sold by Rockler.com or the retail stores.

Since the Rockler Bench Top table is only $100, I've almost bought it, but then decided to wait and look for more info. I thought I read a review that said it wasn't very sturdy and wobbled a bunch.

If it matters, I have a PC 694VK. I also have a D-handle base that I received as part of a rebate. I think I'll just permanently attach the standard fixed bae to whatever table I buy.

·
Registered
558 Posts
Don't be in a hurry to buy a cheap table. You can attach your base to a piece of plywood ,use a straight stick as a fence and set over a barrel. Dust collection taken care of. All humor aside try using this or some thing similar until you get a feel for what you would really like in a table.

Regards
Jerry

·
Registered
132 Posts