Router Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I made a cherry table for a kitchen remodel, out of 5/4 cherry. I had earlier used a plywood template to route a sink opening in a cherry butcher block counter. I cut the opening with a jig saw to within an 1/8 or 1/4 inch, then routed the final opening with a few passes using an Amana two flute trim bit and a PorterCable router (maybe 18000 rpm) With the sink opening (and thicker material, 1.5") I had perfect success. With this table, not so much. When I got to the long part of the ellipse, the router caught the grain and tore about 1/2" off the table edge. I've made the table inch narrower now and I'm probably going to belt sand to get the desired profile. I'm a relatively casual woodworker, only a few projects that weren't made out of pine or plywood...

Any advice? With the sink I was either completely across the grain, or completely with the grain. Because of the ellipse profile, the router comes across the grain at an acute angle, which is where I had my trouble... (I don't have any pictures of the damage. I routed with the template on the bottom, with table top supported on a workmate)

Attachments

·
Registered
2,603 Posts
I would still do it with a router but take very very light cuts. If you have a router table hide your bit in the fence to get the light cuts. Then on the last cut let your template ride the bearing. You might also get some help to hold the table top level.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I have a router extension on my table saw, but a claustrophobic shop area - I don't have clearance to maneuver the table in my shop. I could just step the plywood template carefully in small increments back from the edge.

·
Retired Moderator
16,385 Posts