Router Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Yep, new to this. I am just a hobbyist, but want to get more into woodworking and gain knowledge. I took a woodturning class earlier this year (and was just given a Jet lathe...now I gotta get gouges and a chuck for that...), but I also want to get into routing so I can make more stuff and just know what I'm doing.
I don't own a router yet, so just getting info, seeing what I should look for and what I should avoid. I see the WTF pdf's from Stick already, so I'll browse those while avoiding work

·
Retired Moderator
16,385 Posts
Hi Craig and welcome. My advice is to either get a midsize (12amps roughly or about 1400 watts) minimum plunge or kit that has fixed and plunge bases. There are some jobs that can be done well and safely only with a plunge. The fixed bases are nicer to use hand held because they have a lower center of gravity. Buying the kits with 2 bases is cheaper than buying them separately and much cheaper than 2 routers.

·
Registered
31,264 Posts
welcome Craig...
you'll like it here...

now about that router...

picking out a tool(s)...
and yes.. we will help you spend YOUR money and not have any qualms about it...

1st and most important, look to the company...
evaluate their CS and will they step up to the plate should there be issues...
see if they have a planned obsolesce program in force... as does craftsman and a few other companies......
what will the company and their product do for you...
will they respect you in the morning...
no sense in buying something that can't be fixed a few years later...

next the product...
quality..
will it have a long productive life... as in decades...
will it do more than I needs to....
is it a good value...
will it protect your bottom line...
will it go the extra mile or three...
will it become obsolete or disposable in short order...