Router Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

My name is Bret, 33, married with a 13 yo step son and a baby on the way, from SW Mich. I am completely new to woodworking, never even took woodshop in high school. I don't even have any friends/relatives who do woodworking.

I've got a Craftsman 26??? (the Bosch made model, just red and says Craftsman) router, RT1000 router table, small table saw, compressor, nail gun and a planer. The planer actually isn't mine, it's on temporary loan from my father-in-law (don't know why he has it, he isn't a woodworker).

Up until this point, I've only been playing with scrap pieces, making joints, small trays, yadda, yadda. I'm looking to probably start out making a combination coffee table/chest (one side has drawers, the other half has a hinged lid) out of pine.

I'm trying to build up the nerve. Two years ago, I built my garage/workshop (24' X 30')from scratch all by my lonesome (well, had help putting up the roof), doors, electrical, everything. This is after having never built anything! It looks great, looks professionally done! So tell me... Why is it I can't get started on a stinking coffe table?? This is my story :p Someday I'll quite researching and start building. :rolleyes:

·
Registered
1,702 Posts
Welcome! We have a lot of helpful people here so let's see if we can get you started on the coffee table.