Router Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to all this so please bare with me. I have a new router and it was making sparks from within the motor housing. So far, I have discovered that this is normal. My other two concerns are: Is it common to break the inside of the collet, which holds the router bit? and Is it best to move the router slow or fast?

·
Official Greeter
18,737 Posts
Welcome to the forum.

What make/model router are you using?

On some collets, the sleeve inside may be removed. Can you post a photo of your broken collet? (you can post a photo that is on your PC - not a link to a hosting site)

Slow or fast - depends on many factors (type of wood, bit size, depth of cut....)

too slow and the wood may burn, too fast and the router may be overworked..

just my 2 cents worth........

·
Registered
2,494 Posts
I agree with James speed is determined by alot of factors. I have an idea in my head where mine routs best with some of the wood I use most of the time.. One thing I do is always make a practice run on some scrap piece or section Ya will be cutting off to determine speeds, I also make my practice run shallow as I do most of my routing usually 1/8"- to no more than 1/4" a pass ... Good Luck and happy sawdust makin

·
Registered
3,046 Posts
I'm new to all this so please bare with me. I have a new router and it was making sparks from within the motor housing. So far, I have discovered that this is normal. My other two concerns are: Is it common to break the inside of the collet, which holds the router bit? and Is it best to move the router slow or fast?
Hi - Welcome to the forum:)
Yeah, some sparking is normal in a new router until the brushes get seated, sparking accompanied by smoke is a bit more of a concern.