Router Forums banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been racking my brain on this but can't figure out a way without climb cutting or feeding the piece in between the fence and the bit, neither of which I want to do.

Rectangle Wood Beige Flooring Floor

·
Administrator
David - Machinist in wood
4,311 Posts
Can you just take a lighter cut and then climb cutting shouldn't be so scary? Are you able to do the cut with a longer board and then cut it to length? That will give you more to hold onto while making the cut.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Can you just take a lighter cut and then climb cutting shouldn't be so scary? Are you able to do the cut with a longer board and then cut it to length? That will give you more to hold onto while making the cut.
Maybe, I'm just unsure as to how light of a cut is acceptable for climb cutting (I'm very new to this). But yes, the actual board continues further (about 28 inches long).

·
Registered
1,814 Posts
I 'm not sure if I'm looking or thinking correctly but.... when you complete the cut on one side use it to mark the spot for a start/stop block which would be before the bit. You would take the cut side and turn it around 180 degrees. where the end of the board that has the open cut end would be the point to put your start/stop block. To make the cut on the other side place it up evenly against the fence and the stop block and lower the board on to the bit and table and make your cut. It sounds dangerous but if your cautious it's not. However it does get the adrenaline going. :)

Good Luck!

·
Administrator
David - Machinist in wood
4,311 Posts
Maybe, I'm just unsure as to how light of a cut is acceptable for climb cutting (I'm very new to this). But yes, the actual board continues further (about 28 inches long).