Router Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Premium Member
19,238 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My wife is lobbying for a greenhouse. We had a pile of dirt that got leveled out behind the garage with just about the right space for a 10 x 10 greenhouse. Water is available there, and there is some drainage. I ran across some of the clear plastic sheets for light transmission at HD, but I'm wondering what else I need to put in there. I can also feed some power in there for a small heater. Open to anyone who can suggest ways to build it and make it really work. During summer, I will add shade cloth to cut down the heat and light so we don't wind up with pre-cooked veggies. Anyone have a plan? I'm likely to use redwood for the construction because things get wet and muddy in a greenhouse.

·
Registered
Theo
6,932 Posts
Never made one, but did a lot of research on them, years ago. You would be amazed at some of the things I studied. Hint, do not EVER read a book on Forensic Pathology, they have pictures, lots of pictures, and about half of them in color. Did you know they have green houses in the Philippines? They are open on each end, and the reason they are built is to keep the rain from destroying tomatoes. There are plenty of plans on-line on making one, some better than others. I vent on one or both ends, especially with a fan should keep heat down. Personally, I would go with a hydroponic setup, instructions also on-line, or grow in pots, or in troughs, to save water. I have a book stuck away on Greenhouses World wide. Some plants do not grow so great in greenhouses, if I recall right. I do recall the Russians bitched about their salads, because (I think) lettuce did not grow well, so all they had in their salads was cucumbers and lettuce, something wasn't available for their salads anyway. You could even grow inside, with proper lighting. I believe it was that book that said a 4 foot square hydroponic setup could keep a family of 4 in fresh veggies year round - that