Router Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My girlfriend's ex was a woodworker, but finishing projects was not his strong suit. He "forgot" to put up the last cabinet door, and heaven only knows what happened to it. Anyway, I would like to make a matching door for the poor naked cabinet. I hope this picture is enough to go on. Basically I want to know whether there is a single bit that makes this cut, or is it a combination? The width of the entire channel is 1-3/4 inches.

Newbie here who has never used a router, so go easy on me. :wink:

Attachments

·
Registered
15,459 Posts
Art; That's a commercially made door I think. If you haven't done this before it'll be waaaay cheaper to just buy one from a cabinet door specialty shop.
"Newbie here who has never used a router, so go easy on me. "
I'm certainly not suggesting that you're not capable of doing it, but how much time and money do you want to throw at it?

Attachments

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·

·
Registered
31,264 Posts
That bit on the right looks like it could indeed be one piece of the puzzle, if the guide wheel can be removed from the bit. Otherwise the door would have to be made in pieces and assembled. But the doors on these cabinets are solid, no piecework.
it is not solid one piece..
it only looks that way...
there are many more door profiles than those two...
and why would you remove the bearing??? that would put you in the danger zone...
DO NOT do it...
listen to Dan...
go to a big box or cabinet shop and get what you need...

wait...
are you planing on using a CNC to make these door???

·
Registered
31,264 Posts
Art...

We've gathered together a bunch of pertinent/relative information on routering in this here link ... You should find everything (at least most) quite useful, a lot of help and get you off to a running start in the world of routers... Enjoy...

Do take some time to read the safety PDF's... PLEASE!!!