Router Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

I am a newbie here and am looking for a good dove tail jig/machine to do kitchen, bath, closet and furniture projects. I have browsed the web as well as read the posts here to discover 2-24" dove-tail jigs (Porter Cable and Leigh).

http://www.portercable.com/index.asp?e=547&p=4951

The Leigh looks like the best, but the Porter Cable looks better on the wallet. I would appreciate it if anyone could share their personal feedback on this product and/or recommend some better 24" units.

I want something quick, durable, versatile and accurate.

Sincerely,
Tim

·
Registered
137 Posts
Hi Tim,

I have the 24" Porter Cable Omnijig and it works very well. The Leigh, which I've never used, has an excellent reputation. I really don't know which one is best because of my inexperience with Leigh. I can tell you that the PC Omnijig does help you do a great job but everything is in the setup no matter what dovetail machine you use. If you are new to making dovetails you've got a learning curve to deal with. I hope you have plenty of scrap wood for practice. If you get the Omnijig it comes with a very good video and owners manual. The video takes you through the setup for each of their templates. I've read that the Leigh also has a very good user manual.
Both of the units you are looking at meet your requirements and I am not aware of a better machine than either of these. Perhaps somebody else will suggest another machine to compare against the PC and Leigh.
Best of luck.

Bill

·
Registered
36 Posts
I personally own the Leigh D4, and recently purchased the Leigh FMT as well. I however made my dovetail jig purchase with the intention of using the jig with the isolock templates as well. I am extremely happy with my purchase. (It was the right decision for me)