Router Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello

I am relatively new to the woodworking industry and I have a somewhat awkward concern.

Well story begins when I bought a crate of 3/4 Inch Baltic Birch Plywood BB/C Grade. Unfortunately when I was unloading the crate from my pickup truck it fell on one side and fell pretty hard (1 ton - 27 Sheets). I got it to warehouse and decided to unpack on a next day since it was too late and I was too tired. When I came back next day and unpacked plywood from crate I was happy to see that quality of plywood is much better than I have expected and a good BB side has immaculate texture and of superb quality. My excitement lasted up until I saw the other end of the sheet where yellow streaks on a face of the ply were extending about 10 inches in to the ply. (Please see attached pictures-color is not really correct but you can see what I am talking about). Unfortunately the end of sheet with streaks is the same side that fell down from the truck. When I inspected the rest of 26 sheets I saw the same on all of them.

My question is, since many of you deal with Baltic Birch what would you say about those streaks? Is this something normal and can be expected or it's a direct damage from the fall? I would really appreciate your expert advice and share of knowledge. Again I am new to this so I have nothing to rely on in this matter. :sad:

Thank you very much for your help.

Attachments

·
Registered
30 Posts
Unless the ground was wet/muddy/etc., the falling and the streaking on THAT side is just coincidence, IMO. Do you know (were you told) that it WASN'T made that way, that the sheets were not discolored? Was the pricing discounted because the sheets had a little discoloration?

Just wondering............

·
Registered
282 Posts