Router Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to wood working. I bought the oak park spacer fences for making box joints. So far I just have my router screwed on the bottom of a piece of melamine for a router table. So far I have only used 1 x 6 pine to make 2 boxes with only a little tear out because my backing block was not tall enough. I am wondering what woods would be good for for a biginner. I would also like recomendations on plywoods for boxes as I would like to make a larger box later on. Thanks in advance.

Matt

·
Registered
23,786 Posts
Hi Matt

baltic birch plywood works well it's a little hard to find and it's a bit high in price, you need to mill it with some 1/8" MDF on the front and the back side of the pass to keep the rip out to a min.

I would suggest using 1/2" thick baltic birch plywood for most boxes,drawers, etc.

======
I am new to wood working. I bought the oak park spacer fences for making box joints. So far I just have my router screwed on the bottom of a piece of melamine for a router table. So far I have only used 1 x 6 pine to make 2 boxes with only a little tear out because my backing block was not tall enough. I am wondering what woods would be good for for a biginner. I would also like recomendations on plywoods for boxes as I would like to make a larger box later on. Thanks in advance.

Matt

·
Registered
114 Posts
Hi Matt,

Living in Seattle I would think you would have access to quite a few types of woods. If you want to use solid wood you might consider talking to some woodworkers and/or hardwood retailers in your area to get an idea of what's readily available and how much they cost.

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
soft woods are mostly what is comercially grown around here but being in a port city I can get about anything a person could want locally. I just wonder what woods a beginner should start with to build confidence.

Matt

·
Registered
10,715 Posts