Router Forums banner

Best CNC Router for SBO

4K views 13 replies 6 participants last post by  4DThinker 
#1 ·
Hi, I am in the market to get a cnc router. I used the shopbot in college so I'm familiar with that brand, but I'm not as versed in the many different brands out there. I am a small business owner who is interested in getting small sized cnc router. I will use this machine to cut out images in wood, nothing to technical. Do you all have any suggestions for me?

Discussion starter · #8 ·
Thank you all for the information and the images! I am going to do my best to stay under 7K out the door. I'd like to go with a medium sized machine. I agree that going with the smallest size might get frustrating after a while bc of limitations. You can view some of my work on my website one-nationunderGod.com - everything is done by hand with a drimmel tool.

The jobs that I want the machine for are, in my mind, very simple to start off, but I am excited to see where I can go and what I can learn. It has always been a dream of mine to own my own cnc router.

Another factor that I am concerned with is noise. I currently work out of my garage. I'm considering adding sound proofing walls to keep some of the noise down, but I'm interested to know if anyone else has some insight regarding noise.

I have been looking into the probotix brand and have recently spoken to Leo (owner?). He seems very nice and really helpful.

Aside from ordering the CNC machine, what other expenses can I expect?

Discussion starter · #9 ·