Router Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Although I've been hanging around the RF for over six years, I recently forgot my password and, long story short, I had to start from scratch with a new handle.

I've researched the forum for recommendations on high quality template materials, but I think what we've got in mind is a bit different. You see, we use our big routers with long straight bits to form tenons on the ends of heavy timbers of various dimensions. As I'm an old vet who's slowly losing optical dexterity, I'm growing very weary of constantly making the same fence measurements. In other words, we end up making a lot of repeated measurements to accommodate the fence lines that guide our straights shoulder cuts.

With this in mind, I'm finally doing the smart thing and researching materials that, for all intents and purposes, will be used as straight edges for pencil marking our fence lines. Put another way, we wish to use a square to mark the shoulder -- from which the tenon protrudes from -- and the proposed straight edge to mark the router fence line. Not to state the obvious, but more than one of these "fence guides" will be needed due to the fact that we use straights bits of various diameters.

Does anyone have thoughts on the best material for creating a combination fence guide/straight edge? Polycarbonate comes to mind, but I've never cut it before -- and these guides we wish to fabricate will have to remain smooth to accommodate a nice straight pencil line.

Thanks for your time...

·
Registered
11,747 Posts
Lexan come to mind. Tough, holds an edge and, easily worked with our tools.

Reactions: RainMan 2.0

·
Official Greeter
19,758 Posts
I use HDPE.....(or , if I'm cheap, MDF)

Reactions: Gaffboat

·
Registered
11,747 Posts
It's a polycarbonate.
HDPE is cheaper. Walmarts cutting boards will work if you don't need a really long piece.