Router Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I am somewhat new to woodworking. I have built a few pieces (workbenches and tables), but I am preparing to begin a new project building shelves and cabinets for a room in my new home. The wood I have used previously to build my pieces is from Home Depot or Lowes, and I'm not sure it is the best quality wood. I am looking for very good quality wood for my next project. Does anyone have a suggestion on a place where I should buy the wood in the area of Seacoast New Hampshire or by ordering it? I am interested in good prices, but primarily focused on getting high quality wood for this particular project.

Thanks very much for any suggestions.

·
Registered
70 Posts
I have been buying from ebay...one seller is "http://shop.ebay.com/carewwood/m.html?_nkw=&_armrs=1&_from=&_ipg=&_trksid=p4340" ,excellent people to do business with...another good one is "http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=200427672219&category=84011&sspagename=rvi:1:1" the quality of the wood has been extremely good.
Teo

·
Registered
2,304 Posts
Look for a supplier that deals in hardwoods near you. A local cabinet shop or any trim carpenters might know of a local source. You will find the quality & different grades of quality ply much better than what Home Depot & Lowe's would carry. They pretty much only carry one grade of birch & oak ply. For cabinet face frames & the such I like to use 4/4 stock hardwood. The box stores carry 3/4" stock & after machining & sanding it ends up being thinner than desired for some jobs.

·
Registered
23,786 Posts
Hi Wes

I get great wood from garage sales :), you will find old tables that you can get for a song, the tops are the norm the best ,many come with extra leaves the norm.the last one I got was a Maple 1" x 4ft. x 10 ft. for only 30.oo bucks :) moving sales are the best...

========

Hello,