Router Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm fairly new to woodworking and was wondering what is the best (fastest, easiest and most accurate) way to make 45 degree bevels on already cut to size panels. The panels would be 19mm (2/3 inches) MDF, with 0.4mm veneer on both sides (therefore accuracy is important).

I've got an 8ft cnc router, but it's only good for panels that haven't been cut to size as it never seems to accurately 'seek' the zero x&y axis of the sheet. Anyway, this is for commercial purposes so I wouldn't mind buying pro machinery to do this (apart from getting a better cnc router).

I used a handheld router years ago, but I remember that it had a bearing to 'ride' on a template. Obviously there would be nothing to ride on when making chamfers?

Thanks for any tips!

·
Retired Moderator
16,385 Posts
I'm fairly new to woodworking and was wondering what is the best (fastest, easiest and most accurate) way to make 45 degree bevels on already cut to size panels. The panels would be 19mm (2/3 inches) MDF, with 0.4mm veneer on both sides (therefore accuracy is important).

I've got an 8ft cnc router, but it's only good for panels that haven't been cut to size as it never seems to accurately 'seek' the zero x&y axis of the sheet. Anyway, this is for commercial purposes so I wouldn't mind buying pro machinery to do this (apart from getting a better cnc router).

I used a handheld router years ago, but I remember that it had a bearing to 'ride' on a template. Obviously there would be nothing to ride on when making chamfers?

Thanks for any tips!

Chamfering an edge only requires a straightedge or guide fence attached to the router, or, if your piece is small, placed against the fence on a table.

·
Registered
3,046 Posts

Thanks for any tips!
Hi - Welcome to the forum:)

Unless I'm missing something one of these should do the job:
MLCS Chamfer Router Bits

The bearing rides on the stock controlling the cut.