Router Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I need to install some bi-fold doors and have never done it before. Any suggestions or tips?

·
Registered
1,820 Posts
hi John,

i dont envy you, i hate bifold doors. i admit im not good at it. in fact if i were doing it, i would try to find 2 doors that were as wide as the 4 and hinge them and add catches. maybe even use magnetic catches even if i had to buy stronger magnets.

·
Registered
1,820 Posts
level has never been my problem , Deb. the problem i have is if you get them to fit when closed all the way, you have to have them so tight that you need to drive a 4 wheel drive truck into them to get them closed, lol lol.

·
Registered
63 Posts
So you are saying the doors are to big or just need to adjusted ? It is ezzy to adjust..

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Not at that point yet - just wondering if there was anything that I should watch out for when building the frame, etc.

·
Premium Member
1,537 Posts
I have hung many and the best advice I can give is take the extra time to make sure the opening is first the correct size for the bi-fold. Secondly make sure the opening is plum and square.

Have lots of shims on hand to help in pluming the jamb when you install it. Hanging doors is one project that can not be rushed. Take your time and I am sure you will be happy with the outcome.

After the pieces are cut for the jamb I like to use a pin nailer to hold the pieces in place while I use a counter sink bit with drill to drill the holes for the sides. Taking the time to dado the top will make for a stronger joint as well. I like to glue my joints pin nail and then drill them with a combination bit (counter sink and drill bit). I like to work on a flat surface and have everything laid out so I am not searching for things when I need them. A set of quick clamps works well to hold too if you are doing this by yourself.