Router Forums banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all, just found forum when searching for a router i found locally at a resell shop... Im a guitar/violin luthier and always looking for tools... anyway this seems to be a very old porter cable which I like vintage stuff... all polished aluminum housing and the router base says porter cable router base model 5512 , but IM just thinking its the base since I cant find any info on it.. it is HUGE! 50% larger than my standard workhorse D handle 6912 routers which work just fine! anyway the plate on front of router is missing so I cant find the model or power rating of this router... also this collet has no threads but a place for a wrench.. what kind of collet does it use? its a BEAST! I spetd a shiny 15 spot for this router! hope it pays off! lol

Dennis

Attachments

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
I think the router is a porter cable Rockwell 5142 router but its hard to tell... i cant for the life of me figure out what kind of collet goes in here.. there is a wrench slot on side but there are no threads anywhere.. not even sheered off threads.. its pretty clean inside the collet area and there are 3 angled slants that go down the inside as if something goes in and grips but they are not deep by any means.. is there something Im not seeing?

·
Retired Moderator
16,385 Posts
The general design says it's pretty old. I don't know how you'd attach a collet to that either. The collar on the bottom looks to have an internal keyway.

·
Retired Moderator
16,385 Posts
I blew it up 300% and it was 83 and 83 A. 83 is obsolete but 83 A has a substitute it says.

·
Registered
8,956 Posts

·
Retired Moderator
16,385 Posts
In the box on the right if you scroll down about half way.
83A
18051 1/2" ROUTER COLLET *** Obsolete, use 698800 ***
$0.00

859807 *** Obsolete, No Replacement ***