Router Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
102 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I would like a "palm router" and I was thinking the Bosch Colt. I have the 1617 mounted so this would compliment that. A 1 HP (with soft-start) small router seems pretty beefy, should handle nearly anything.

Anyone want to talk me out of it?

·
Registered
31,264 Posts
no...

·
Retired Moderator
16,385 Posts
A few of us, well actually quite a few of us have the DeWalt 611 combo package. Fixed and plunge base and about 25% more powerful. I haven't seen a disparaging remark about it yet. I got mine for $149 off Amazon Canada. You might be able to find it slightly cheaper there.

·
Registered
102 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
A Colt refurb for $69 right now ... sort of a nice deal. Has the edge guide as well.

They have the 611 and the 6000 as refurbs but no plunge base. They are slightly more.

I've never used a plunge base before (although I can see where they are handy) and my large one has one. Would I miss it in a palm router?

·
Registered
72 Posts
I have a Colt. It's great to get into small places to do small jobs that my larger 1617 can't get in to. The only down side is having to buy 1/4" drive router bits of profiles I already own in 1/2". Oh well, more tools! :D

·
Registered
102 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I have a Colt. It's great to get into small places to do small jobs that my larger 1617 can't get in to. The only down side is having to buy 1/4" drive router bits of profiles I already own in 1/2". Oh well, more tools! :D
I actually have a pretty good 1/4" set - I thought I was going to use another router I had mounted but went with the 1617 instead.

·
Registered
901 Posts