Router Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,
I'm new to routers and to this forum - I know it's not good form to join and ask for help straightaway, but I want help understanding something.
For info, I'm in the UK.
I inherited a Bosch POF 52 a few years back from my late father in law. He'd used it for various things, so the problem I'm having must have been overcome. Of course, it's all to do with the collet...
The router body says to use a 6mm collet, the manual says 6mm/1/4".
I've ignored the router for a few years, but started looking at what I might do with it a few months back. My first action was to forcefully insert a bit and break the collet that he had.
After that I measured things - all of the router bits that came with it have a 1/4" stem. There were none from his workshop of 6mm.
I assumed the collet was 1/4" and today bought a Bosch collet 1/4" 2608570048.
It's too big to fit into the router.

So my questions are :
If I buy a 6mm collet the router is technically usable but only with 6mm bits. Is buying 6mm bits in the UK a viable way forward?
Are there any 6mm to 1/4" adapters that he might have used and that I might have missed when clearing his workshop?
I'll put the brand new collet on Ebay if there's no viable way forward.
Would the remainder be of use to anyone on here ? (you pay the postage from Dorset, UK).
For info, it has the base/plunge plate and fences, etc., spins up nicely and looks to be in generally good condition.

Hopefully I've explained clearly but do ask questions.

·
Official Greeter
Ross
9,699 Posts
Welcome to the forum.

·
Registered
672 Posts
Hi Farrovia, welcome.
please note that 6mm and 1/4" collets are not interchangeable, nor is there an adapter. They are two separate collets. You correctly show the internal diameter for 1/4"as greater than 6mm. A 1/4" shaft can therefore not be forced into a 6mm collet (as you found out)- the tolerances are (or should be) quite tight.