Router Forums banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
536 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Got a called from a minister in one of our low income neighborhoods asking for two boxes to Prayer Request in for two different kitchens. She said I could make them out of plywood. I told her my tools probably wouldn't cut plywood. I made these out of walnut. Also made 3-cherry boxes and one small walnut box for special needs kids. She also asked for some way to put a place for 3 by 5 cards and pencils.

Attachments

·
Registered
1,775 Posts
Quality work always comes from your shop Malcolm. Very good design with functionality on the Prayer Request boxes.

·
Registered
2,042 Posts
No doubt these are great boxes indeed. I guess one of my prayers would be answered if I learned the skills to make these boxes. So much to learn and so little time. I have a blanket chest to make between now and August when my granddaughter starts at ODU and I'm just starting to learn to hand cut dovetails.......

Beautiful boxes with a thoughtful design and finish.

·
Registered
536 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
No doubt these are great boxes indeed. I guess one of my prayers would be answered if I learned the skills to make these boxes. So much to learn and so little time. I have a blanket chest to make between now and August when my granddaughter starts at ODU and I'm just starting to learn to hand cut dovetails.......

Beautiful boxes with a thoughtful design and finish.
I have been making boxes for many years - probably 15 years or so. Last year I probably made 200 boxes and wooden baskets. Shooting for 250 this year. Once I get the wood planed and sanded it takes about 45 minute to 1-hour to cut the box or basket out. I sometimes will cut out several at a time. I have started documenting how I make them.

·
Registered
753 Posts
Just beautiful Malcolm. Exactly what we'd expect from you.

·
Registered
92 Posts
Don't have CNC. Just a Sawstop tablesaw and a router.