Router Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

This may sound like a dumb question, but I’m still a newbie, so I’ll ask it.

Suppose I want to put a slight profile (maybe roundover or chamfer) on all four edges of a 1x8 piece of lumber, 4 feet long.

I have a decent size Bosch router table. Even though I’m a newbie, I’m pretty sure that I can guide the piece well enough to do the long edges, but what do I do when I try to handle the short edges? When I’m pushing the short edge past the bit, and I have most of the length of the 1x8 perpendicular to the fence, what do I do to keep the piece from wobbling as it goes past the bit?

If you tell me to hand route the short edges, won’t I have a problem getting the bit positioned properly to exactly match the degree of roundover or chamfer that I did on the long edge?

Or are you going to tell me to do the whole job by hand and not use a router table at all?
Thanks,
Louis

·
Retired Moderator
4,126 Posts
In my opinion a hand router is the way to go here with a chamfer bit with a bearing on it or a round over if that is what you choose. Definitely the easiest way to go and just as fast if not faster. This is the kind of job a trimmer router is just great for but any router will work.

Corey

P.S. not a dumb question either :D

·
Registered
23,786 Posts
Hi Louis

The router table can do all you want and do it very well :)
I think Bob or Rick said you can do about 80% of your routering jobs on the router table. :)
Plunge router are great but it takes more control to get the job done right on the 1st. time, the table takes the control error out of the job because you don't need to hold the router flat and parallel to the cut.

This is what I would do, 1st find a 2 x 4 as long as your fence then zero the bit to the fence and move the bit up or down.