Router Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I have a 1310 Pro. It was fun at first, but far too dinky for any depth cut > 1mm and too small for most projects like cutting out and milling 304x457mm cutting boards, ~594x841 drawer faces, bowls, etc...

What is the most cost effective way to achieve this level of cnc cutting? I'm still pretty new to this scene; do people build their own cnc routing tables, or is that too tedious and time consuming and should I just get a chinese cnc machine from Amazon? Or since I already have a 1310 pro, could it be upgraded to a degree that would allow for 1/4" depth cuts?

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
Welcome to the forum! I built mine and several here have built their own, as well. What's your budget and space available?
Awesome, budget I was thinking ~$400 to 500, but I'll try to stretch it if needed. Available table space is around 4x3' (large room tho)

·
Administrator
David
3,946 Posts
What are you planning to cut into the drawer faces? Or are you wanting to cut clear through for the outer profile of the drawer faces? If so, a table saw may be a better choice for straight line cuts. But if these are wavy or oddly shaped drawer fronts then the CNC can easily do that but it won't happen very fast with a machine in that budget range. You'll need to add a zero to the end to get a machine that will cut a drawer front in a reasonable timeframe.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 · (Edited)
What are you planning to cut into the drawer faces? Or are you wanting to cut clear through for the outer profile of the drawer faces? If so, a table saw may be a better choice for straight line cuts. But if these are wavy or oddly shaped drawer fronts then the CNC can easily do that but it won't happen very fast with a machine in that budget range. You'll need to add a zero to the end to get a machine that will cut a drawer front in a reasonable timeframe.