Router Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Looking for suggestions on CNC routers. I have a budget of around 5k. I have never used a CNC machine, so looking for something good quality and on the easier side to use. I am just a hobbyist so won’t be running everyday of the week.

·
Super Moderator
John
6,840 Posts
Hello and welcome to the router forum
The CNC members will be along and able help you

·
Registered
114 Posts
you will get many opinions of course.

my 2 recommendations: 1. lurk on cnc forums for awhile and learn all that you can, and 2. consider a used machine. many cnc's are purchased and for many reasons don't get used much and are then sold. there is your best bang-for-the-buck, in my opinion. you may be able to pick up a $10k machine for your $5k

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I am looking for suggestions on CNC machines. I have never used one and don't know not much about them, I am a hobbyist at wood working. I am looking to not spend more then $8,000 and something that is good for beginners and easy to use. I have searched the web and have found many different brands.

·
Super Moderator
David
3,578 Posts
Welcome to the forum! What are you intending to cut or make on a regular basis? What support tools do you have for preparing stock - table saw, band saw, planer, etc.? How much space do you have and what size are you wanting? How about power available - got 240v for a spindle?

David

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Looking to make some simple furniture projects and signs. I have table saw, planer, band saw, miter saw. I have 240v and shop space isn't a huge issue the shop is 3,000 sq ft.

·
Registered
52 Posts