Router Forums banner
1 - 20 of 96 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Afternoon all,

Newbie here --- I am going to build a coffee table for my son. Unfortunately the 1x pine is only available in 24" width. I need it to be 32 inches. I am looking a tongue and grove the extra piece on to a side. My question is using t&g router bit kits or single bit? Any recommendations as to which way to go and particular manufactures? I am not looking at spending over $80 if at all possible. End results needs to be very tight seam.

If by chance you have a better solution I am allll ears ! :grin:

Tia,
cvbs
stay healthy and safe !

·
Registered
31,264 Posts
blind spline it...
make the spline/slot approximately 1/3 the thickness of the material yur using for the top and at least 1/2'' deep......
use a slotting bit.... - 20-25$...
another bit to consider - A slotting cutter set.... a bunch of $$$

a true T&G bit won't give you as solid of a fit that a spline will..
a slot cutter will cost less...
use Baltic Birch for the spline...
the spline will be stronger than a T&G...
a spline will give you way more gluing surface
it's tough to blind a T&G joint...

·
Premium Member
20,498 Posts