Router Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
265 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
The wife has asked for some ideas for the upcoming holiday, and my mind goes towards a compressor/nailer kit. Since I have no previous experience with these, can I get some insight from the forum members? Is one better than the other from what you can see on paper?

I was looking at a few mass merchandisers this weekend and saw these kits. Any input? What to look for etc. would be much appreciated.

http://www.porter-cable.com/index.asp?e=547&p=5960

http://www.bostitch.com/default.asp...ACK265&SDesc=2-Tool+/+Finish+&+Trim+Combo+Kit

Both of these kits are about the same price. The PC kit comes with a narrow crown stapler. 3 guns with PC. 2 with Bostitch.

Thank You

·
Registered
387 Posts
Hi: I have a PC brad gun that handles from 3/4" to 1 5/16ths inch brads, and a compressor, it wasn't a kit, but it works really well. You can't go far wrong with a name brand kit. I am considering adding a 23 guage pinner to my arsenal, it would be handy for trim, when you don't want to fill the holes before finishing.. Woodnut65

·
Registered
132 Posts
I have the pancake compressor with the pc nailer that goes from 3/4 to 2 1/2 in, I got it as a kit and I'm very happy with it ,I think pc makes the best , But that is just my thoughts, Learning Herb

·
Premium Member
508 Posts
Hello rh111,

I have the Bostitch Compressor that came with a 16 gauge nail gun. I had also bought a 18 gauge nailer a few months before.

I think either one will be fine. PC does come with 3 guns and you will find a use for the Crown Stapler. I bought a 1/4" crown stapler from HF to go with my collection.

I find that I use the 16 gauge more than the 18 due to it being thicker finishing nails.

·
Registered
1,590 Posts