Router Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings...

I would like to get some advice or direction on where best to research and identify the top five or so 24 x 36 Desk Top CNC routers… … I have zero knowledge with respect to type of equipment.. I have a budget of about 14 K..I am intending to use the CNC Router for commercial purposes.. medium duty not day to day manufacturing.. needed to support my startup business for making high-end bas-relief art, reproduction antique signs in wood as well as pattern making for cast products....

I am also interested in a digitizer will allow me to digitally map any bass relief artwork that I produce from there I will be able to scale up or down and re output it to a CNC router… the digitizer is pivotal to my application…

Regards & Thanks

·
Registered
1,171 Posts
Welcome, Ed.

I'm a big fan of the CNCs that Probotix.com make and sell. For under 5k you can buy their Asteroid 25" x 37" version, or their Meteor 25" x 49" version. You can get them with a router clamp and you provide the router, or for a little more with a spindle designed to run longer before breaking down. They come completely assembled including the PC running Linux/LinuxCNC to control them. Plug in the cables.

Their frame design permits opening up the bed to clamp boards vertically or at any angle to the router. They have a tool sensor that automatically sets the Z value any time you change bits during a cut.

I own a Meteor, and oversee the use of another Meteor and a Nebula from them at the university where I teach. Our uses are primarily for furniture parts and joinery. Others here can advise on using them for sign creation.

I can't advise on a digitiser as I don't use or have one.

Any questions on using LinuxCNC or the CNCs from Probotix just let me know. I don't work for them but as I said am a big fan.

4D

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
Greetings 4D & Thank you responding…