Router Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
137 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just installed the second set of factory supplied blades in my Dewalt 735. I am relatively new to planing so I don’t have a feel for the average life expectancy of the cutting edge. The first replacement (swapped edges) came after planning enough red oak for 14 stairs – I quess I was ok with that lifespan (or maybe it was just the 60gal of chips )

What is the general consensus / experience / success with re-honing these blades? If you have experience this, is it something that you could do manually with fixturing the blade or does it need to be professionally done (surface grinder, etc)? I understand that if they are re-sharpened, all bets are probably off with the height gage accuracy but I can’t tell if there is enough exposed blade to even entertain the idea. Also, if there is a better alternative (longer lasting) replacement blade, I’d be interested in hearing about it.

·
Registered
1,535 Posts
That seems like an awfully short life on those knives. I probably planed 400-500 bf of 4/4 to 3/4 stock before flipping to the second edge. Mostly white oak, cherry and poplar with some ash mixed in. (and some pine twice a year for a guy that makes about 1,000 toys/year for some charitable groups). I take light passes, about 0.02" (1/3 rotation of the crank)--which may help. After a few hundred feet i can tell the knives are no longer new, but the cut is still much better than the planer i had before.

earl

·
Registered
2,645 Posts
O.K., this suggests a question, if generally shallow cuts of about 1/32" are made, would the blades last longer or wear faster than if one makdes deeper cuts.