Router Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all. I'm a newbie here and have a question that I have not been able to find the answer anywhere online. So I'm hoping one of you folks might have the answer.

I have a DeWalt DW621 router that I have had mounted on my router table for years. A few weeks ago a friend stayed over as a house guest for a few days. As I was working on a (very simple) project I asked him to change the bit on the router for me. Well, I was distracted with what I was working on and was not paying attention to what he was doing. He owned a kitchen and bath remodeling shop so he knows his way around wood working tools, or so I thought. To make a long story short, he cross threaded the shaft so bad that I can't get the collet in properly. I need to buy a proper size die so i can attempt to re thread it. Does any one here know the specs on the threading for that router? DeWalt does not seem to know. They want me to replace the part. Which is basically the motor to the tune of $214.00. I can get a bran new router for not much more than that. Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
8,956 Posts
A real Bummer. Sorry to hear about that. Is it the shaft or the nut? or both?
Dewalt always had a good CS dept., wonder if you could get to the repair dept. and see if they have a fix. Or get a hold of an independent repair shop and see if there is a good fix.
Herb

·
Super Moderator
John
6,962 Posts
Take it to a repair shop if they can not fix it I think your just going have to replace it.
Usually these shops have seen it before and know how to repair it or they also know it can't be repaired

·
Registered
506 Posts