Router Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a novice woodworker without much practical experience. I have some tools and do the best I can when I need to. I have picked up a couple of routers and a table to mount one but really do not know what I am doing to even start some projects.
So here I am with some equipment and very eager to learn how to use it for some generally basic projects. Yesterday I realized I don't even understand the correct way to use some bits. I have watched endless You Tube videos and learned some safety tips along with very general concepts.
At this time I want to make some bee boxes for my sideline beekeeping hobby. Most boxes are made with box or finger joints along with a rabbet on each inside edge of the box to support frames where the bees build comb.

So are there any basic and thorough tutorials I can access to learn more? I am not afraid to try new projects as long as I can be safe and see some progress. Let me know what you think and feel free to give it to me straight. I am 70 years old and can handle honest and constructive advice.

Here are pictures of my two routers and some bits. The Craftsman is the one mounted to a Craftsman table and the Porter Cable I have not used yet.

Thanks in advance

Tripod Automotive tire Camera accessory Cameras & optics Bumper Furniture Chair Wood Flooring Floor

·
Registered
2,032 Posts
Box joints can be made with both the table saw and a home made jig and with routers using a jig as well. One very good source for instructional video is WWOGA.com George is very through and covers most subjects well. Lessons and video series are good ways to learn. Another good choice if close to you is taking classes at some of the local woodworking stores like Woodcraft and Rockler. I've done this a number of times even though my closest store is over an hour away. Sometimes hands on and in person is a better experience.

·
Registered
1,815 Posts