Router Forums banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Good day gents. I am trying to decide which toy, I mean tool, I should purchase next. I would like to purchase a dovetail jig but keep the budget at around 200.00. I see porter cable models on Amazon in this price range and they do seem to have decent reviews.
Maybe I should back up a bit. I am new to the whole router thing but have sprung for a decent router table on CL, seems decent enough, list price was
600.00 but picked it up for 65.00, never had been used and came with a really
Nice fence . Over the last year I have become semi proficient but still have a long way to go. Rout her is a DW 618 fixed NAS with a plunge base as well.
I would like to start making my own cabinets and Drawers And would love a good dovetail jig to help me out, I know I can't afford the high end models. But do as a good many in the 200> range. Is the MLCS DOVETAIL JIG MASTERY SET Decent Or Would i be Better Off With Something Like The Porter Cable 4216?
Thanks for the advice

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
1,622 Posts
Robert, I can't say for sure, but I bought one (I think Porter Cable) back a few years ago, and I've never used it and I don't think I ever will!! So, if you are interested, I may be willing to sell it. I'll have to look at it tonight, and I'll post some pictures (I'm at work, now.), and look and see what I paid for it and see how much I would be willing to let it go for. I know I bought a couple additional size plates to go with it. I don't have the original box, but everything else is there. I'll get it all together tonight and post a pick of it. I think it had a video also, on how to use it.

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks N'awlins77. Would appreciate it. Out of curiosity, based on your name I assume you are from the 504 area. Born in Morgan City but grew up on the north shore myself. Live in P'cola area now.

·
Registered
1,622 Posts