Router Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a new woodworker (old guy just getting around to it) and I have a cheap chest of drawers that the case is ok but he drawers are shot. My plan is to use plywood to make the sides and back. I think I can salvage the drawer fronts. I have a new dovetail jig and want to use it on this project. What do you recommend for the drawer sides and back? Material? Thickness? Again I am using this as a learning experience so I plan to trash some wood along the way.

·
Registered
2,304 Posts
I am a new woodworker (old guy just getting around to it) and I have a cheap chest of drawers that the case is ok but he drawers are shot. My plan is to use plywood to make the sides and back. I think I can salvage the drawer fronts. I have a new dovetail jig and want to use it on this project. What do you recommend for the drawer sides and back? Material? Thickness? Again I am using this as a learning experience so I plan to trash some wood along the way.
Welcome Bill.
Since you want plywood for your drawer material I would use Baltic Birch. Especially since you want to use your dovetail jig as it doesn't have any voids in the material like the 1/2" ply you get at a Home Depot type store. You can find this at a hardwoods supplier. I would machine a Half-Blind Dovetail for the joints on your drawer box. I would prefer to use 5/8" material but you can use 1/2". Thicker drawer material such as 3/4" is better for a very large drawer to filled with heavy items such as a larger pot drawer. Staying with 1/2" - 5/8" material is all you need for a dresser. If you decide to use the cheap stuff at the home centers I would consider another type of joint for the drawers. It doesn't look good dovetailed with the voids in the joint.

·
Registered
2,494 Posts
Welcome along, I 2nd the Baltic Birch if using plywood

·
Registered
130 Posts