Router Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2,603 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Rockler has this unit on sale for $300 plus an extra needle and free shipping. I have been looking at this for a while and this is a good price with the extra needle. The reviews that I have seen are very good but $300 is still a lot of money. The only spraying I have done is with a rattle can so I would appreciate your comments on this.

Thanks

·
Registered
147 Posts
I have this unit and have had no problems with it. I have used it on a few larger projects with mainly lacquer and the finishes are very good. I am an amateur sprayer but am very pleased with the results. Sure does take a lot of paint when using a sprayer but I suppose with four coats on a large setback, that is to be expected. I don't think you can go wrong with this one.

·
Registered
2,369 Posts
The standard kit (even from other vendors) comes with both 2.0 and 1.5 sized needles (there is an optional 2.5 needle). So the "free 1.5 needle"... is standard and has always been free. The marked down price is still higher than some other vendors. Amazon is $292 and free shipping. But Rockler has always treated me right with their customer support.

Is is a good deal? IMHO? Depends on what you are looking for. That kit includes it's own little compressor, hose and HVLP siphon feed gun. So if went to a big box store you got a pancake compressor/finish gun combo and a good HPLV gun... it would be about the same price or just a little more, right?

With any spray gun there is going to be a learning curve. With a rattle can, there is no thinning and no adjustments necessary. If you need less than a can worth of painting, no worries. A bit more to think on with a spray gun. Cleanup is a must, and you can't put it off.