Router Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,

This is coming from a newbie to using a router !!!!

I am atempting to make mouldings for my archway and I am having a problem. A little background..... I produced a computer drawing of the archway complete with mouldings which create the pillars and the elliptical mouldings for around the top. I then proceeded to make templates from the line drawings to give me the elliptical shape I required. I then made 3 bases of different diameters for my router. These Bases were used to offset the grooves I routered into the mouldings to dress them up. I used the templates (as mentioned earlier) as a guide for the router to follow. Thing is I made the elliptical shaped mouldings before I sheeted in the opening and now the mouldings do not fit the opening, ( remember I am a NEWBIE ...be kind and try not to laugh..I know it's hard!) Any ideas on how I should proceed from here to make the new mouldings. I think I can trace the shape of the opening to cardboard, but how do I cut the outside edge of the moulding? Best way to transfer from cardboard to make template? etc.
Sorry for being long winded.

Harold

·
Registered
387 Posts
Hi, Harold:
Welcome to the Forum. I think you kind of put the cart before the horse on this one,
but everyone of us has done that also from time to time. I suggest that you make your cardboard template from the arch, which I trust is not going to change. Transfer the template to some 1/4" or 1/2" sheet stock. Size it so that you can use a guide bushing to make the cut. You may want to adjust the template size so that you can use bushings that would allow you to offset the cuts that way you can make the design inside the moulding by using different size bushings. It is important to have the template as smooth as possibl sine the router will follow any defects.
Hope this helps you out.. Woodnut65

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·