Router Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
142 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi There Fraternity,

This rant is purely designed to get off my mind some of the day to day myths that surround the world of plumbing.

The first thing I would imagine comes to mind as you start to read this, is he qualified to expel any preconceived and accepted plumbing terms.

So here goes, I am a retired plumber of 46 years’ service, with the last 20 or so as a full-time lead lecturer at a college in Scotland, teaching Plumbing, Heating, ACS gas technology and associated electrical works to mainly Plumbing apprentices and to elements of said disciplines to degree level professionals.

Now I know that many of you guys are not from the UK so for our friends across the pond I will explain how a trades person is borne, regardless of which construction trade he or she chooses.

First step is to get a job as an apprentice. So, its shanks pony, visiting as many companies as you can to get a business to take you on. As soon as you are successful in this endeavour, the company registers you with a government affiliated association, in plumbers’ case in Scotland it is SNIPEF and its sister BPEC in England. For all other trades such as Electrical, Joiner work etc it’s the CITB.

Now to give you some understanding of the set up. All trades come under the Government banner, regardless of which part of the British Isles you live in. All apprentices receive a 4-year apprenticeship of which their first 3 years they attend a government funded college on a day release or block release rota. All wages during this time are set by the government.