Router Forums banner
1 - 20 of 58 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there,
Has anybody had any experience with using the EZ Pro Dovetail Jig, which is sold by General Tools? It looks interesting, but seems fairly inexpensive and I wonder about its quality.
Cheers,
Bob.

·
Registered
3,046 Posts
Hi there,
Has anybody had any experience with using the EZ Pro Dovetail Jig, which is sold by General Tools? It looks interesting, but seems fairly inexpensive and I wonder about its quality.
Cheers,
Bob.
Hi Bob, I got one of those several months ago and can't say I ever got a decent dovetail out of it. :( Remember that I am also pretty new to wordworking and had never done a dovetail of any sort before so it might work ok for someone who understands dovetails. I have a Rockler jig and am slowly coming to terms with just how dovetails work and may dig the thing out one of these days and see how it does when I'm a bit better armed with knowledge. The claim is that it can be used either clamped to a bench with a handheld router or used on the table. I only tried it on the table and it kept putting my fingers uncomfortably close to the bit. :no:

·
Registered
244 Posts
Yes, I've had it for a while now and will say it does a very decent job for me.
The learning curve is very short and the ease of use is great. My only recommendation for table use is, throw away the included bearing and use a template guide bushing in your table top instead. It works much better that way in my opinion. I can't comment on hand-held use since I only use mine with my table.
For the price and ease of use, I rate this jig at the top for a hobbiest. I wouldn't want to use it for production work but, then, that's work, not a hobby.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Yes, I've had it for a while now and will say it does a very decent job for me.