Router Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,
I am making a split fence for my newly built router table.
What size should I make the opening for the bit to recess into the area of the fence? I currently have it cut to 2" high and 3" wide. Is this a good size for most bits or should I go larger?
I am a newbie wood worker and am planning on making some raised panel doors but cannot imagine using bits larger than that anytime in the near future.

Is a 2 1/2" dust collector port for the fence large enough?

It is a basic L design with recess for the router bit and a sliding split fence on the face. Planning on 4" fence with 2" sub-fence. I will be adding a T-Track 1/2" above the sub-fence for accessories.

Thoughts?

·
Registered
2,825 Posts
Hello Trent: I would say that is a great place as far as measurements. If you are making a split fence, you should be able to move the fence apart. That would allow you to adjust the fence for a larger bit. If you make the rt, and the lt hand side able to slide, you can also make the fence adjust out, on the out feed side, that will allow you to plane on it. The adjustment is only 1/32, or so and your edge is planed.Your frnce must line up exactly for most planing operations. Good luck

·
Registered
98 Posts
I made several fence "face plates" that fit over my base fence - made them out of plywood and they are a tight fit onto my base fence without screws. I fit the blank faces and then slowly push the fence into the bit to get a perfect cut-out - works very well with vertical raised panel bits.

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·