Router Forums banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
193 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay, I'm nearly finished building my grandson's toy box and I'm looking at what to apply for a finish. I'm a novice woodworker who has even less knowledge and experience with finishes.

The toy box is built from 3/4" cherry and I really want the finish to look good because I think the toy box came out looking really nice.

I would like to spray on the finish but I don't have any spraying equipment so what I'm looking at using is Deft Interior Clear Wood Finish Satin Lacquer 12.25-Ounce Aerosol Spray:surprise: (that's a mouthful...it's just the description that appears on Amazon).

Does anyone have any experience with this finish that would lead me to believe that I wouldn't be happy with it? I appreciate you help because this is really important to me to get a nice finish. Thanks.

·
Registered
193 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Dan, we had cherry hardwood installed on our bedroom floor last year and I really like the natural appearance of it after it aged several months. Is there any reason I should stain it other than for aesthetic reasons?

·
Premium Member
6,056 Posts
I"ve used Deft spray lacquer on several projects. Good stuff! If your relatively new to using this kinda finish, practice on a couple of boards first... get used to spraying it properly. Ive found a good distance to be 6-10 inches away...Nice steady side to side action. I'd suggest laying the box on its back and spray the front, lay it on its side and spray the opposite side..etc.... if you try to spray the box sitting upright, you run the risk of runs....you can do it, but it'll take patience..

The only thing about the Deft I didn't like was the smell..

I"d suggest a simple wipe on poly....That will give you more protection than a lacquer will, provide a little more durability. Easy to apply...builds up well and leaves a nice finish...