Router Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First off - I'm not certain that this is the appropriate forum - I couldn't really decide where to put this.......

I am new to woodworking and am having to use my garage (moving the vehicles out) as a shop for the time being. I was thinking I could purchase folding table legs somewhere and make a shop table that I could store against the wall when not in use and still have room for the wife's car....

Any recommendation on a quality set of folding legs or is there a reason this is not a good idea?

Thanks,

Zach

·
Retired Moderator
4,126 Posts
Zach, not a bad idea. You can find them in home centers but consider this. Why not use that same space and make your first workbench. Doesn't have to be huge but if you have 2 1/2 x 8 ft that would make a nice space. Check out the Woodmagazine site and see the plans for the convertible bench they made last year out of a home center hollow core door for a top. You can put shelves in it, drawers etc. if you like. It would be a good first project for you and not alot of tools needed.

Heres a couple examples:

Here's the one I spoke above of:
http://woodstore.stores.yahoo.net/bawoand6wato.html

Some others:
http://woodstore.stores.yahoo.net/towo.html

http://woodstore.stores.yahoo.net/spacworcen.html

Corey

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hi Corey -

I will check on the plans. My garage is a pretty tight space and the main reason I was thinking about a folding design is the lack of space it would take up while not is use. With the layout of my garage, the only wall that is suitable for a bench is not a great place to encourage a ton of sawdust etc... It isn't the gretest space, but it is the only space that I have available, so I have to make the best of it. I will look for th eplans on their website shortly. I had also thought about casters, but ran into the same storage problem.

Thanks,

Zach