Router Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
James Carmichael, Fort Worth, TX here. I'm kind of a new woodworker still learning. I started with a Porter Cable 7529 plunge and just bought a Makita RF1101 kit to use in my table. doing all sorts of projects, currently a cedar pergola and built-in bookcase. When I finish those, I have lots of shop projects I want to do.

·
Registered
1 Posts
Jim Severson here...
I have become a self taught wood butcher in the last few years.
I have learned enough to realize that a router is probably the most usefull tool that I do not (yet) know how to use properly.

Does anybody have any recommendations regarding a specific router for me to purchase.

I am about to settle in on a Porter-cable 694VK.
I am also about to build the Router table like the one that is used in the "Router Workshop".

·
Community Founder
6,782 Posts
I'm assuming if you posted your router related questions in the General Routing forums, you could get Bob or Rick Rosendahl to answer you.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
jim.severson said:
Jim Severson here...
I have become a self taught wood butcher in the last few years.
I have learned enough to realize that a router is probably the most usefull tool that I do not (yet) know how to use properly.

Does anybody have any recommendations regarding a specific router for me to purchase.

I am about to settle in on a Porter-cable 694VK.
I am also about to build the Router table like the one that is used in the "Router Workshop".
Jim,