Router Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First let me say "Happy Thanksgiving" to all who read this. I DO hope you have much to be thankful for. I certainly do. I'm really a beginner to wood working. Since Jr. High I've always wanted to do this, but my father and fate had other ideas. Forty years of radio and television news and some acting on the "boards". But I've been physically challenged and now retired, so I have time to build a shop, install equipment and can spend quality-peaceful time out there making sawdust.

But I have a question: What is wrong with Freud router bits? I've had several. If the cutting heads aren't breaking off, they get dull REAL fast and are totally useless (how do you sharpen carbonized cutting edges on these things?)! Yesterday I purchased a 3/4 X 1-3/4 inch Freud bit for nearly $50.00, took it home installed it in the router, made one pass on a 1X6 piece of pine. Turned the board around, started to make another pass (dado) and it just wouldn't cut! Looked at the bit and the top 3/8's inch of one of the cutting edges had snapped clean off!???!?!!!!

What's a better kind of bit to use. I'm not thrilled with spending tons of money for these "boat anchors" ... to have them fall apart with only one use. This is nuts!
So! Is Wood River better? Or is there another name brand that lasts longer (sharp wise) and doesn't "explode" sending bits and pieces of router bit all over the shop; and also, DOESN'T cost me an arm or a leg to own?
Thanks.
Again, Happy Thanks giving and In case I don't see or hear from you 'Twixt' now and then, Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

·
Premium Member
2,413 Posts
Hi Charlie. Welcome to our little corner of the 'net.